Calaguas Island Beach Paradise

Mahabang Buhangin ( Long Beach) in Tinaga Island

Calaguas group of islands in Camarines Norte

27th province of the Philippines I’ve visited

 Bicol Backpacking Adventure

1st Leg: Calaguas group of islands, Camarines Norte

March 15-17,2013

 3 4 5 6

2

I’m the happiest when Journeying James tagged me along on his Calaguas trip!!

I’m supposed to leave by the 17th for Bicol but because of an impromptu great invitation of my backpacking idol, spent my weekend on the most beautiful island beach I’ve been to so far, Mahabang Buhangin ( Long Beach) in Calaguas, Camarines Norte, marking my 27th province of 81. Thank you so much http://www.journeyingjames.com for the great opportunity!

It was my first in there. I know its in Bicol and I’m from Bicol but hey, I’ve prioritized far provinces that’s why..tsk tsk..heheheh.

On board 2 vans, the team had a crazy road trip to Paracale for almost 6 hours with our super excited drivers. hahahaha.

Took the ” Bitukang Manok” road ( translation: Chicken’s Intestines), the crazy zigzag road to Bicol. Had breakfast in Paracale, the known gold-rich town,and had 2-3 hrs. boat ride to the paradise, depending on how big the waves are. During our ride, the waves are bearable for me yet I know they’re crazy, playful waves. Somehow, with my previous island hopping adventures, I got used to the waves already.

The ride all the way to the island was one word: CRAZY! But man, as we approached the beach, its all worth it!

For me, the place is literally a paradise, with torquoise,  clear water, great sands, green mountains, no electricity,camping treat, what more can I ask for?

Boodle fight lunch. Grilled fresh catch fish and chicken.sleeping on hammocks and tents. trekking hills on sunset and sunrise. These are just a few of our treats.

10

11

But for me, the dip on the aqua blue clear water was the highlight! I savored the water on high noon until 3pm. Never mind the sunburn I got afterwards despite of 50 spf sunscreen lotion.

The bonus: I got to visit the island’s small village to buy some fresh fish. Its about 15-20 minutes walk from the beach. I totally admire the simplicity of the village and the smile of the locals as I spoke to them with Bicolnon dialect.

7 8 9

Also, I got to stargaze at night and had fun with friends. and yes, did I ever mention the great fun we had during the whole trip? Man, the trippers are great!

13 14 15 16 17

But wait, there’s more! hahahaha. Our team sidetripped to Bagasbas surfing haven and some hit the boards and had the ride of their lives.

18

19

As for me, oh I just love to watch them as they play with the naughty waves.

When the time came for the team to go back home in Manila, I continued my backpacking and boarded a bus bound to Sorsogon… and the adventure had just begun! ^_^

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ian | going places
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 17:40:49

    ganda ng mix color ng turquoise blue water at cream beach sand… kaso yun nga violent talaga yung waves papunta dyan at malayo daw talaga?

    Reply

    • emmthepinaytrekker
      Apr 15, 2013 @ 19:49:19

      hi Ian.tnx for dropping by.about 6 hrs van trip from manila to paracale,then 2-3 hrs boat ride to the island,depending on the waves..its ALL worth it! hey,we’re going back this coming May 10..join us and see for urself😉

      Reply

  2. AZ
    May 14, 2013 @ 10:22:56

    Emm ikaw na pala ‘to🙂
    AZ here kasama din sa Calaguas May 10-12 haha
    http://www.thechronicwanderman.blogspot.com

    will post my 2nd entry in the coming days🙂

    Reply

    • emmthepinaytrekker
      May 15, 2013 @ 04:22:24

      hahahah hi AZ! yap its me, super late na mga posts kc natambak mga lakwatsa..hahahah..occasional blogger ako e hahahaha :p tnx for dropping by and nice to meet u! ^_^

      Reply

Leave a Reply

