Backpacking continued:Misamis Oriental to Agusan del Sur

Provinces of the Philippines I’ve visited

18th – Misamis Oriental in CDO & Gingoog City

20th – Agusan del Norte in Butuan city, Cabadbaran City & Magallanes

21th – Agusan del Sur in Bunawan

2nd, 4th & 5th leg of  my 16-day solo backpacking Mindanao

March 2012

the map showing my roadtrip

DSC05611

my bus front seat view

DSC05608

of mountains & blue skies

I left Benoni Port in Camiguin at 6:30 am going to Balingoan Port. From there I took a bus going to Gingoog City, another city in Misamis Oriental. I didn’t stay much here, just had a stop to eat. Then I was off to Butuan City where I stayed overnight.

After finding a place to drop my things, went off to see the city, then took a van bound for Cabadbaran City where I met fellow traveler Christian Vincent Enciso who gave me lots of information where and how to explore the place.

DSC05621

bound to cabadbaran city

After feeling the place, took a tricycle en route to Magallanes where the oldest tree Bitaog is located. The 500+ year old tree is duly recognized by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources as the oldest in the country.

I was overwhelmed and humbled by the grandness of this tree, so far the biggest one I’ve seen in my life so I hugged it with nervousness and excitement in my heart. I actually imagined it like the  big tree featured in the James Cameron’s movie Avatar, so alive and mysterious!

DSC05635

dwarfed by this awesome tree, the biggest i’ve seen so far

DSC05638

From here, went to the town’s port and took a motorized boat that will bring me to Butuan city without going back to Cabadbaran. This crosses the Agusan River, my first to travel on a river current. I was kinda nervous crossing the river, not only it was raining and I was thinking about seeing crocodiles, but also the water was not clear and somehow I have this kind of fear when I don’t see anything in the waters because the mystery just shakes the whole being in me. I think its just courage that really pushes me to face the mystery of things, feeling it without understanding. And the experience humbles me all the time knowing that I’m just a speck in the whole universe.

DSC05640

DSC05646

I stayed overnight in Butuan, just roaming around the city until night time.

The following day was a new adventure, more firsts for me.

Woke up early to continue my roadtrip.

This time, to personally visit the WORLD’s largest crocodile in captivity, LOLONG, in Barangay Consuelo, in the town of Bunawan of Agusan del Sur. I saw him in the news.

I’m not really a fan of crocodiles, but their wild nature amazes me for some reason, much more if its the largest in the world in captivity!

So from Butuan city, I took a bus bound for Davao and got off in Bunawan. Then had a bumpy motorbike ride going to the croc’s eco park.

DSC05665

Lolong at  cleaning time

DSC05668

the enormous wild

 DSC05671

The experience was great but gotta hit the road again, this time bound for Bislig in Surigao del Sur, my next province.

DSC05673

a glimpse of the province

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Agness
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 14:10:06

    What an awesome trip! Ordinary tourists head to Manila, but not you. Ach! Inspiring! I was crocodiles in Vietnam during my travels in June and July 2012. Good luch girl!

    Reply

  2. emmthepinaytrekker.wordpress.com
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 18:42:13

    hi Agness! Thanks for dropping by =) that’s bcoz there’s so much to see around Philippines =) hope u and cez would come & visit my country too =) thanks much and u too, good luck on your 2013 travels! =)

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 15:53:47

    doing a great job, keep up the work going.

    Reply

  4. emmthepinaytrekker.wordpress.com
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 18:16:38

    thank you Anonymous =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

