White Island: Camiguin’s best White sandbar

19th Province of the Philippines I’ve visited

 Camiguin Island

3rd leg of my 16-day solo backpacking Mindanao!

Hibokwhiteisl

(photo courtesy:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Hibokwhiteisl.jpg)

Aerial view of White Island with Mt. Hibok-Hibok & Mt. Vulcan in the background)

4

After a short stay at my paternal relatives in CDO, I continued my backpacking bound for Camiguin. I took  a bus from Agora terminal bound for Butuan and got off at Balingoan port after 2 hours of travel. Then took a ferry to Camiguin of about an hour.

The ferry travel was very memorable for me because it was the very first time I saw a group of playful dolphins! Just sooo happy!

DSC05457

Upon reaching Benoni Port, went to my hostel to prep up for my day tour. I rented a habal-habal ( local term for single motorbike) and went first to Brgy. Agoho, the jump off point to the white sandbar. In almost 20 minutes via  a motorized boat, I was in paradise in the middle of  the bluish sea.

6

approaching the sandbar

a

b

DSC05476

3

I’ll never forget this paradise. I would love to go back there again =)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emmthepinaytrekker
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 15:22:46

    hi Cez,

    Thanks for dropping by! =) about the sandbar, I wouldn’t want too. lol. but the experience was really great =) hey,u may wanna add Philippine backpacking on ur list😉

    have a great 2013 travel! =)

    Reply

  2. Cez (@CezKrol)
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:02:45

    Hey Emm,

    Amazing photos and unique place. I’m not sure if I’d like to get stuck there. It doesn’t seem there’s even a single natural shadow. Nevertheless, it’s surely great for swimming and sunbathing, photos too😀

    Happy travels,
    Cez

    Reply

Leave a Reply

