giving back to my elementary alma mater

It all started last 2010 when I hosted our elementary alumni reunion night. Our guest speaker was our former Gubat mayor now congressman Ding Ramos. What strike me most of his message was “why not spend alumni night not only drinking,partying and merrying but giving something also to your school. Rizal Elem school has so many talented professionals and graduates,why not have a project for the school each year?”

The message bugged me for days and weeks and months..

Honestly, I’ve been volunteering around since college days but haven’t done anything yet for my hometown or alma mater.

I can say it was more a guilt feeling that have pushed me to initiate something for my alma mater.

I thank God and Gawad Kalinga for shaping me as a volunteer. I volunteered on and off for Gawad Kalinga for 4 years. I was a weekend volunteer then, building houses for the poorest of poor around the country, serving kids from these communities, organizing activities, fund raising for kids & youths activities, and finally serving the youth as coordinator.

Until unexpected things happen that I decided to take a “leave of absence” from GK volunteering service.

Then our alumni reunion came and I thought this is my chance of giving back something to my school.

I readied myself and my pocket..hahaha..With my years of volunteering service in Gawad Kalinga, NO one pays me,i spend my own money, time,effort and whatever talent and skill I have & needed for the service.

I lived from free transportation, free food, free accomodation of my Titos and Titas from Couple of  Christ and the beneficiaries of GK site I serve.

So I started calling, texting, FBing people in my brgy Rizal.I started booking flights for meetings..If I dont get a promo, I accepted the challenge of 14-hours bus travel from Manila to Bicol on weekend after work then just stay there for a day for meetings then 14-hour bus travel again back to manila..hahahah.beat that!!

I started meeting up with the Elem. Principal and alumni officers to discuss my proposals.

I took pictures of my school, posted it on my facebook account,told my school stories, and invited my FB friends to support the project.

Their response was sooo warm. They were excited as I am.

Until we were able to raise an almost 100K pesos fund,courtesy of my FB friends who are mostly alumni of Rizal elem and working from all over the world.

We were able to repair the School Canteen and the 30 or so year old school front concrete fence in 2011.

This 2012, I am pushing for the very first formal library in the school..I graduated in my alma mater in 1991 and we never had a library back then.. Sadly, until now,we still don’t have.

Im just so happy that my friend and youth mentor Kuya Al,the new elem Principal is so supportive and excited of my proposals.

Thanks to him,he lobbied a 400K fund from DepEd and will start repairing the 2 vacant and torn rooms this April 2012.

while my FB friends are continously pledging and supporting the fund raising project for the library facilities, such as new books, bookshelves, room fans,chairs and tables.

Cant wait to open this library by June 2012 classes!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elvie Domanais Piano
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 12:50:51

    Were so proud of u Emz.. good job keep it up sweety…:)

    Reply

    • emmdexplorer
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 22:53:12

      tnx much teh elvie =) tnx big time sa support mo din frm canada w/ love..hehe.sa uulitin,library nmn..aheheheh =D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

